You are here:   NDCTE Board
  |  Login

The elected officers of the Council shall be the president, president-elect, secretary, communications director, and directors from the northwest, southwest, northeast, southeast, and a member at large. Any member of good standing is eligible to be an officer. The treasurer/membership chair shall be appointed by the executive committee or Board of Directors and will serve two year terms.

Diversity Policy

It is the policy of the North Dakota Council of Teachers of English to demonstrate sensitivity to the concerns of a diverse population and to make sure they are represented on Council-sponsored programs. Whenever possible, NDCTE will undertake the following actions: to include a diverse population on appointed commissions, boards, committees, task forces and other groups; to include a diverse population among leadership of the above groups; to include a diverse population among the nominees presented by the nominating committee; to include in NDCTE conventions and workshop sessions dealing with interests of a diverse population and using as consultants practicing teachers of  a diverse population from the levels of instructions concerned; to include a diverse population in verbal and visual materials intended to represent or describe NDCTE; and to include a diverse population as targeted groups in any recruiting efforts.


NDCTE Board Members

The election of officers shall be held each year at the summer conference. Election of northeast and southwest directors shall be in odd years, and election of northwest, southeast and member at large shall be in even years. The College Rep will be appointed by the Board in odd years, and the SLATE rep in even years.  

For a description of the duties of each office, see the NDCTE bylaws (last updated July 2012).  If you are interested in running for a board position, or if you would like more information, email us at

Meet the NDCTE Board

* *

Aaron Knodel, President  

West Fargo High School

Heather Woods, President Elect  

Wahpeton High School

* *

Anne Volk, Past President  

Wachter Middle School

Brittni Liepitz, Secretary  

Mandan Middle School

* *

Sue Anderson, Treasurer

Richardton-Taylor High School

Vanessa Nordmark-Beahm, Member at Large

Magic City Campus, Minot Public Schools

* *

Bridget Ryberg, NE Rep

Grand Forks Central High School

Benita Saur, SW Rep

Mandan High School

* *

Kaylie Young, SE Rep

Enderlin Area School

Beth Aufforth, NW Rep


* *

Kristi Mahrer, SLATE Rep  

Wahpeton High School

Alan Church, College Rep  

Dickinson State University


Jeremy Murphy, Communications Director   

West Fargo High School

Marj Bubach, Credit Liason  

Minot High School


NDCTE Past Presidents

1936-1937   Mable Williams, Fargo

1937-1938   T.O. Sweetland, Grand Forks

1938-1939   Lyla Hoffine, Minot

1939-1940   E. Louise Johnson, Bismarck

1940-1941   Beulah Bomstad, Grand Forks

1941-1942   Florence Jones, Devils Lake

1942-1943   Nellie Bobb, Dickinson

1943-1944   Marie Mynster, Grand Forks

1944-1947   Mina Onsrud, Ellendale

1947-1948   Clara T. Ingvalson, Ellendale

1948-1949   Minda Onsrud, Ellendale

1949-1953   John Hove, Fargo

1953-1954   Lyla Hoffine, Minot

1954-1955   Calvin V. Hueneman, Jamestown

1955-1956   F.Y. St. Clair, Grand Forks

1956-1958   Rita Murphy, Bismarck

1958-1960   Robert Michels, Northwood

1960-1962   Alfred Dolwig, Dickinson

1962-1964   NO RECORD

1964-1965   Catherine Ronglie, Fargo

1965-1966   Jerome Lebo, Minot

1966-1968   Sister Barbara Ann, Bismarck

1968-1970   Mike Morrissey, Fargo

1970-1971   Agnes Oxton, Dickinson

1971-1973   Barbara Adam, Minot

1973-1975   Dellis Schrock, Fargo

1975-1977   Juanita Luessen, Valley City

1977-1979   Nadine Aanestad, Minot

1979-1981   Walt Hatlestad, Fargo

1981-1983   Bill Cosgrove, Fargo

1983-1985   Kay Stephens, Bismarck

1985-1987   Kathleen Eagle, Bismarck

1987-1989   Barbara Livdahl, Fargo

1989-1991   Jane Rupprecht, Velva

1991-1993   Nancy Joyal, Minot

1993-1995   Wendy Allen, Bismarck

1995-1997   Pam Nagel, Rhame

1997-1999   Laurie Davis, Jamestown

1999-2001   John Wall, Wahpeton

2001-2003   Susan L. Anderson, Richardton-Taylor

2003-2005   Marjory Bubach, Minot

2005-2007   Mandy Wardner, Bismarck

2007-2009   Sarah Hicks, Minot

2009-2011   Clarice Andrus, Mott-Regent

2011-2013   Anne Volk, Bismarck

2013-2015   Aaron Knodel, West Fargo